Companies spend millions each year on advertising online, in magazines, and on billboards. These adverts can encourage people to buy goods that they do not really need. What are the positive and negative effects of consumerism.

Nowadays, we are interested in getting more products that are not necessary for our livelihood and big corporates invest more money to make the public buy their goods either by advertising on the internet, or in newspapers. Let's discuss the advantages and disadvantages of enticing a common man to get their brands. Firstly, the pros of introducing new items to reach others are by getting to know the best features of the particular thing, and also getting the opportunity to compare the prices with other related brands. As a result, a person gets to know the salient features of the material that he prefers to buy. Moreover, children get inclined to ads which they watch on television and if the commercial show any kind of positive action, then they will try to imitate that action. For example, when I was young, a milk product from Amul company, inculcated the habit of drinking milk daily in my mind which is a very good thing. Secondly, the cons are that the toddlers show tantrums to get the material, which makes them disobedient. And also, everybody consumes all those things which are not necessary for them. This shopping spree action makes the house fill with unwanted junk making it difficult to live. To conclude, the marketing strategy of the companies is very much useful to a citizen, as he gets all the details of the product, without making an effort through commercials, but has some kind of negativity which makes the younger generation wreckless, as they do not understand the importance of money and also the make the adults extravagant.