Many countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

It can be seen that many nations nowadays import a vast majority of food products from each other. In my opinion, this should be considered a positive approach for these countries. On the one hand, it can be unfavourable in several aspects. For example, regarding consumers' views, there might be a risk that the residents of that country would form a strong preference for foreign food. They tend to ignore and lose interest in locally made food since the imported ones may provide more pleasant flavour and health benefits. This, therefore, will lead to an adverse effect on the food production of that country. Companies, particularly in this field, will encounter a dramatic decrease in sales which may result in business challenges and the verge of bankruptcy. On the other hand, there are enormous potentials that a country can develop if they keep pursuing this policy. The first one that could be mentioned is the astonishing variety of quality food products from different cultures for consumers. Some products might bring better health benefits, while some would provide exquisite flavour for daily meals. This would significantly enhance people's quality of life, which is most countries ' main priority. Another one that should be considered is the encouragement of relationship development among the countries. Importing is one of the effective policies to help others support other countries' economies. This would make nations give appreciation and respect to their traders, which would enable them to build long-term relationships, especially in terms of economic aspects. In conclusion, even though many nations tend to depend on foreign commodities. This trend, however, seems to allow a country to achieve more potential improvement according to the aforementioned reasons.