Although it is generally illegal, physical punishment continues in many countries. Some argue that parents should have the right to punish their children in this way. Do you agree or disagree?

In modern days, physical punishment is prohibited in many countries but some people insist that parents are the exception. In my opinion, children should be protected by law in every way. First of all, corporal punishment was often utilized among older generations. This was considered as the most effective way to control offspring behaviours. However, physical penalties just force minors to obey adults and end up leaving youngsters with mental and physical trauma for a long time. Moreover, if children get used to abuse from their parents or teachers, they will most likely do the same to their children in the future, which does not solve the situation at all. Consequently, physical punishment can not be justified. Secondly, there are several alternatives instead of hitting children. One well-known method is called time-outs. This is recommended by most paediatricians as a way to curb negative attitudes ranging from talking back to aggressive acts. The young ones, whose ages are between two and eight, need to learn the difference between the right and the wrong. Time-outs allow them to have some time to calm down and understand that their tantrums do not solve situations. Another form of punishment may be not allow them to do what they want to do, such as taking away their video games. This way makes youngsters learn that following rules brings some benefits. To conclude, corporal punishment promotes offspring to comply with rules forcefully, but I believe that alternative ways such as time-outs are more beneficial and harmless.