There is an increasing trend around the world to have a small family rather than a large family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a small family rather than a larger family?

It is becoming important across the globe to have a nuclear family rather than a joint family. Although there are many benefits of having such families, this phenomenon has demerits too. Subsequent paragraphs will explain them in detail.  There are numerous advantages of planning a small family. Primarily, it decreases housing expenditures. To elaborate, if the number of members is less in a family, then they could live in small houses. Ultimately, this would benefit working people to have low-rented apartments in spite of living in big flats. Another key feature is it reduces the burden of responsibility as a whole. Since fewer individuals in nuclear families are dependent as compared to the count in joint families. As a result, it descends the pressure to meet the demands of every generation,especially of their kids. For instance, my colleague now easily manages her roles financially because of a little family of four members. On the other hand, this practice is sometimes disadvantageous too. First of all, it causes a lack of support to the members of the family. To elucidate, when an individual needs emotional strength because of hardships in one’s life, then there is no one to assist them completely in that difficult times. Moreover, it has a negative impact on child’s growth. Due to the less availability of social persons such as grandparents, children’s development is affected adversely because their parents are unable to spend quality time out of their hard-core working hours. In India, for example, more students are feeling lonely and becoming introverted due to the reduced progress of social skills. To conclude,despite the fact that there are multiple advantages of this process, one must not turn a blind eye towards its merits in terms of less burden and low housing rents on people. Therefore, it is mandatory to balance this and have at least occasional outings to meet everyone in the family so that a child could not get a feeling of loneliness.