In many countries, there are an increasing number of private cars what are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

There is a significant rise in the number of private cars in several nations. Although this has different benefits, the drawbacks can also not be ignored. This essay will explain both in subsequent paragraphs. There are numerous merits of the enhanced quantity of personal cars. Primarily it boosts the economy of the parent nation. Since the majority of individuals prefer private motorcars rather than travelling on public transport, this increases the sales of such automobiles substantially. Therefore, it adds up to large revenues and enlarges the profits of the automobile industry. In India, for instance, car companies have contributed to raising GDP by two per cent by increasing car sales during the last year. Another key feature is it amplifies the safety parameters of commuters. To elaborate, it has been observed that people are more secure when they travel in their own cars. Consequently, they are least exposed to crime,especially during nighttime. On the other hand, this practice has some demerits too. First of all, it leads to increased traffic congestion on the roads.As more people in the metro cities are purchasing their private conveyances, this abruptly doubles the count of cars on highways and even on local pathways too. Ultimately, this contributes to more traffic on every route. Moreover, it has polluted the air quality,which one breathes in daily. To elucidate, the increased number of cars deteriorates the freshness and purity of air by releasing harmful gases and pollutants into the atmosphere. As a result, this has a detrimental impact by causing multiple health issues such as asthma,lung cancer and blockage of the respiratory tract. For example, an article in the newspaper highlighted that with the purchase of one car in the world, there is an increase in respiratory disease patients by one per cent on regular basis. To conclude, undeniably more private cars are advantageous. However, one must not turn a blind eye towards its disadvantages in terms of large traffic and air pollution,which are alarming. Thus, there should be a fair balance between to use of private and public modes of transportation for the human population.