In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

After hearing I was repainting the walls of my grandmother's room, my neighbour shared some old stories about my community, like someone keeping a real deer as a pet in front of my house. Leading me wanting to unearth more about it. I believe there are some bizarre stories that will grasp the youth's attention and arise their curiosity about knowing more about the past of their residence. In the following essay, I would explain the motives behind this, and provide some tricks to investigate more. The main reason behind it is the bond with one's family and localities. For example, my community is built and designed for those employees who work in an oil refinery factory. In other words, your coworkers are exactly your neighbours. Under such physical conditions, people are more likely to make friends. Thus, curiosity about this place can be aroused by nature. Like hearing the elderly talking about some ghost stories about the buildings, the young kids might probably try to know more in case they run into a real one! Though youngsters are able to search for some information online, the most effective approach to know more about the buildings is to ask the elderly, who are the eye-witnesses of the history of the residence. They can not only know about the funny figures or horror stories but also tell you about the price that they offered to buy the house. Though digging out such histories of living places is not an easy job, knowing more about the places can give you a sense of belonging, which is a priceless gift. Take some time and have a cup of coffee with the elderly!