Now a alot of people in college are doing academic study. We should encourge them to learn vocational skill ( like plumbers and electricity). Do you agree or disagree.?

Most people have argued that in higher education institutions students are relying so much on the knowledge instilled in them from books. However, it is advised that skills involving the use of hands should be promoted for example plumbing and electrical works. I completely agree with this statement as there would be more job opportunities as well as promote a sense of independence in people. First and foremost, many human beings depend on being employed by either the government or the private sector for a livelihood. This is because all they ever learnt at universities were academic studies resulting in poor motor skills.Having the students learn how to work with their own hands will promote job creation as one will not depend on being employed in order to meet their basic needs. For example,the world's population continue to increase as days go by and there is a scarcity of employment,a person who trained themselves on how to work with their hands has more advantage compared to one who doesn't have those skills as the competition is high. Hence, encouraging learners to study vocational skills is important. Secondly, learning vocational skills promotes independence.One does not have to go looking for a worker to fix a broken tap or clogged sink. therefore,having these skills taught in colleges will benefit the Learners more. For instance, if a tap breaks,someone can fix it themselves and end up saving money instead of calling people to repair it. In conclusion, in today's higher institutions,vocational skills should be included in the curriculum to enable learners to be independent as well as create employment opportunities.