Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

There is a view that more and more patients who have health issues tend to try alternative medicines and treatments rather than go to see a doctor as usual. I would say that this has a huge negative influence on the current medical system. I will give my reasons below. To begin with, alternative medicines and treatments have not been scientifically proven whether it is truly effective or not. In other words, those non-scientific ways to be healthy are just sales activities from healthcare companies. Moreover, their products tend to be much more costly than visiting hospitals despite the fact that their products are not proven by the government. Since the company's first goal is maximizing its profits, they use not only a celebrity model in its advertising but also tons of marketing strategies. For example, I was under the weather last month with a cold. I came across a TV commercial that showed a new tea beverage helps to reduce fever. However, it was not helpful at all and my symptoms even got worse. Furthermore, alternative medical products make people confused. Though it is common sense that go to see a doctor when people have bad feelings, they will less likely to visit hospitals even when they have serious health problems. This is mainly because patients believe alternative treatments can help them to be healed with less effort. Thus, this results is highly dependent on irrational methods instead of seeing medical professionals. Take some patients as an example, they highly relied on massaging treatment to fix their sprained ankles. When they finally went hospital to get professional help, it was too late to try easy treatments. So they had to get a big surgery, which was more painful and expensive. In conclusion, it has been a serious social issue that more patients choose alternative medical processes instead of seeing their personal doctor. I strongly argue that this is a negative development because companies draw patients into their fake medical products to make a profit, as well as people are confused by believing alternative methods are easier and faster than getting professional treatments.