Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

Fashion is one of the most necessary products in our life. Some opinions argued that choosing clothes reflects their cultural value and personal characteristics. However, many people do not agree with this statement. This essay will explain my viewpoint and draw my conclusion. It is of the opinion that clothes are one of the key factors differentiating the culture of each person. It is undeniable that each country has its own traditional costume, showing its unique, cultural value and identity. For example, traditional costume is one of the main sections in every Miss Competition. In this section, when contestants wear their traditional clothes, they not only share with other people the meaning and value behind their clothes but also show their pride in the places where they were born and grew up. However, with the effects of globalization, the mixing of cultural values is unavoidable. In this context, people around the world are easily assessed and adapted to the new cultural value, including the choice of clothes. Nowadays, the way of dressing is tended to be based on certain purposes such as formal clothes for the workplace, active clothes for playing sports, casual clothes for convenience and so on. Because of this trend, it is very common when we see people wearing the same outfits which makes it difficult to identify their origin as well as their cultural background. To sum up, although clothes can express the cultural value of people, the modern way of dressing is difficult to identify an individual’s identity. Therefore, in my opinion, it is impossible to access a person’s characteristics and culture based on the way of choosing clothes.