Nowadays, it is easier for young people to have a credit card compared to the past. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages

The younger generations have more convenient access to credit card than they used to. In this essay, I will explain why the benefits of credit card ownership among youth overshadow the potential drawbacks. Firstly, credit cards may put youngsters in the trench of debts because they are not thoroughly money-conscious and inconsiderate in their spending. For instance, the children's expenses will not exceed what is granted to them if their parents use the monthly allowance system, whereas a credit card does not have the same rigidity as the user can pay a month after. In other words, a shopping spree can be done even when children do not have the money readily available for them at the time of purchase. Thus, without discipline and financial awareness, young people are prone to debt due to the reckless use of credit cards. On the other hand, credit card usage from an early age helps build up a credit score, which is deemed important for the future of youth. For example, an adult with more experience in using a credit card will have an easier process of attaining a bank loan to buy an expensive property, such as cars or mortgages, thanks to the credit score from years of credit card purchases. Furthermore, stacking up points for future economic convenience is possible with many years of credit card usage. To summarise, credit cards may cause harm due to overspending and economic negligence, but steady and responsible purchasing with them can be beneficial in a long term because of a built-up credit scores. Therefore, the advantage of owning a credit card at such an early age outweighs its disadvantages.