Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defender’s past record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer.

There is a long-standing debate about whether all the previous history including the defender's past record should be shared with jury members under British and Australian laws or not. Some lawyers claimed that extra information would be an infringement on individual rights and I agree with this opinion. I will cover the reasons below to support my opinion. Firstly, a jury needs to be in a neutral position before the trial. If all the past records are accessible to jury members, some may get prejudice against the criminals, which leads to an unfair judgment. For example, a person who is being accused has a history of being in prison but it is not related to the case. However, that fact may influence the jury members’ perspective and change the final decision. Therefore, the information provided to a jury should be restricted by law, so that a jury can focus on a case itself. Secondly, while the criminal rate has increased, the recommitment rate also has increased. Some main reasons, such as poor job opportunities, a lack of emotional support and social stigma, make the ex-convicts turn to crime again after their release from the prison. It is tremendously hard for convicts to return to a normal life. Thus, the improvement of supporting systems are required more than changing trial systems. To conclude, although all the information of criminals may allow a jury to have a determining factor for the final decision, I believe that unrelated facts should not affect the judgements to protect human rights.