Most countries are compared by their economic success. Do you think there are some other important factors that need to be taken into consideration? Give your opinion and relevant examples.

It is not surprising that these days people tend to use the economic status of a country to evaluate whether it is successful or not. I would argue that there are multiple other factors that could be used to compare different countries in a more comprehensive way. One factor that could be used to evaluate a country's success is whether its citizens could live their lives as they wish. Today's people are now living in a fast-evolving world and many of them have decent salaries to meet their daily expenses. Nevertheless, they are not able to make their own lifestyle choices as they are forced to work hard to outperform others to secure their jobs while a country's top priority is to ensure people living in this place enjoy their daily routines and make their own decisions about their career and social life. Another factor that needs to be taken into consideration is the safety and stability of a nation as a safe environment is the prerequisite of any success in different industries. Many wealthy countries like the United States these days are now suffering from severe crimes like mass shootings and gang violence. It follows that many innocent people are dying from these accidents or facing a huge economic loss. And a country could not definitely be called or labelled as a successful one when people are worrying about their living conditions. On the other hand, economic development does play a vital role in comparing different countries as it is the foundation of many other factors. People's livelihood, children's accessibility to different levels of education, and other public facilities are all related to this country's economic success as all these services require huge amounts of funding and financial resources. A country in a critical economic condition could not be able to address these basic needs of the general public. To summarise, there are many factors having an influence comparing different countries and I do firmly agree with the idea that many other factors rather than economic success also hold the key to a country's success.