Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is the case that people have different views on whether children should be taught to be competitive or cooperative. While I agree that teaching competition to children brings some potential benefits, I believe that a spirit of cooperation is more important in adult life. On the one hand, I accept that competition is a great source of motivation for children. For example, when teachers apply games or puzzles as the element of competition in the class, pupils try to work harder to outdo other pupils. This healthy rivalry helps develop self-confidence, leading them to work independently in the future. Moreover, when children leave school, they become more confident and determined in competitive situations such as job interviews. Therefore, it is why some people encourage to teach young people competition. On the other hand, I also believe that it is more important to train cooperation for children because they may need this in adult life. Workplaces often require teamwork skills which are given by supervisors. Team collaboration is more useful than a competitive determination to win. Instead of promoting the idea that people are winners or losers, teachers could show children gain more from working together. For example, when giving a game in the classroom, teachers can let students play the game in teams to train their spirit of collaboration. Hence, schools should foster this attitude in young people because if children can work together, achievement may be bigger and more sufficient. In conclusion, I can understand the reasons why some people support teaching competitiveness to children, but it seems to me that it is more necessary for students to learn cooperation in schools.