Governments should make people responsible for looking after their own local environment. Do you agree or disagree?

Individuals and the state are responsible for environmental protection, although some believe that the state is at the core of encouraging inhabitants to safeguard the surroundings. Since human activities have a direct impact on the natural world, I agree that this approach is realistic. It is undeniable that certain residents are constantly more environmentally sensitive than others, and this is because they are well informed about their obligation towards the natural world. Others, meanwhile, believe they are a negligible portion of the whole, thus whether they safeguard the environment or not, they do not significantly contribute to the conservation of nature. As a result, they have generated numerous severe environmental problems, including littering, dumping poisonous garbage into rivers and lakes, and other detrimental behaviours. In addition, some residents exploit natural resources for commercial and economic purposes, which has drastically bad effects on the natural world. An exemplification, some are willing to illegally cut down and sell trees to earn an enormous amount of money, resulting in deforestation and negative effects on the habitats of several wild species. Due to the significant implications of human activities on the surroundings outlined above, I am confident that the government can adopt numerous effective measures to encourage residents to be more accountable for their natural surroundings. Firstly, the government give funding to create a range of environmental campaigns and activities so that the general public is made aware of the damage they inflict on nature. This will provide individuals, especially adolescents, with a solid foundation for a more comprehensive understanding of preserving nature and limiting its harmful impact on the environment. In addition, the authority should implement a number of strict rules to punish individuals and organizations that do illegal acts or adversely affect the natural environment. Since then, I feel that the aforementioned steps will assist the state in educating, encouraging, and enhancing people's responsibility for environmental protection. In conclusion, although some people believe that the influence of each individual is minimal and negligible, I hold the belief that with sufficient government intervention, many people will become more environmentally conscious. This will gradually establish a firm foundation for the long-term enhancement of environmental quality.