In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sum of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a widely held view that the transportation system has been advancing extensively, which sparks community's arguments about the allocation of funds, whether to establish a modern method by constructing new railway lines or focusing on existing ones. Thus, I wholheartedly believe that prioritizing financial resources for existing public transport would be more effective because it will enhance the passenger's pleasure by making it more comfortable. A high-speed railway line will make commuting efficient and more convenient since it will not require people more hours waiting and transporting between two distant areas, particularly for individuals who reside far away from their workplaces and they have to get there on time. For instance, the fast train from Bandung to Jakarta in Indonesia only takes approximately one hour for more than 100 kilometres. Hence, it would be an alternative method for those who regularly travel long distances, saving their precious time for other activities. However, enhancing other public transportation would appear to be a viable option, which also involves other related facilities, such as busways. This can be done by improving the quality of facilities and services that it provides to the public, which can significantly increase passenger satisfaction and attract more people to utilize mass transport rather than their personal vehicle. To illustrate, the development of bus stations, in terms of amenities and high-quality services in Indonesia, has driven people to use buses as their regular transit. This is proven by the increase in the number of people commuting by bus in recent years. To summarize, implementing fast railway lines might bring benefits in terms of time, but it only affects some particular individuals, especially workers. Otherwise, improving other transportation would widely impact public satisfaction though.