In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

It is essential for people to have their own houses rather than rent ones in some countries. There are several reasons which can explain this circumstance. From my point of view, this is a negative situation. The first reason why owning a home is vital is that it can be a symbol of wealth. People who possess a home tend to be reckoned comparatively rich, at least they do not need to be anxious about accommodation. Besides, renting a house is not as secure and liberal as living in a settled home, conversely, there might be some troubles such as being defrauded by a so-called ‘agency’, encountering a mean landlord, having fights with roommates, and so on. And tenants are not capable to do whatever they want in the house, because its owner may make some rules or have some bans, which restrict tenants’ behaviour. Apart from that, there is a conventional notion in many countries that all people should settle down to get married and have a stable family. In my opinion, the condition that it is necessary for folks to buy a house instead of hiring one is not positive, it imposes a tremendous burden and constraint on the public. I do not deem that everyone should consume a big fortune on a house, particularly those people who are used to or even enjoy flitting between different places. For instance, I am the kind of person who is always ready to embrace a distinct lifestyle and has no intention of marriage, let alone having a kid or forming a family. Therefore, there is no need for me to purchase property, it is more feasible for me to rent a house temporarily in the area I am. Nevertheless, for the sake of the stereotype, I have been accused of being abnormal. In conclusion, there exist factors causing the phenomenon that it is considered necessary for everybody to buy real estate, and I do not support this phenomenon.