Childhood obesity is a serious problem in many countries. What are the causes of this and how can the problem be managed?

Obesity in children is identified as a serious health challenge which is concerning parents from all corners of the world. This essay will explore the causes of this issue and what parents can do to tackle childhood obesity. The fundamental cause of obesity in youngsters is an energy imbalance between calories consumed and calories expended, which is the result of two main factors such as unhealthy diet and lack of exercise. First, children develop obesity when they consume an excessive amount of sweetened beverages and high-fat-low-nutrient foods such as junk foods, fast food, candy, and soda. Additionally, a sedentary lifestyle with video and computer games, watching TV, and scrolling social media decreases the time the children spending on outdoor or physical activities, which contributes to weight gain in children. If the child has been diagnosed with obesity or is overweight, adopting new eating and exercise habits for the entire family is one of the best strategies to reduce childhood obesity. Firstly, cutting back processed and convenience drinks and foods which can be high in sugar, fat, and calories; serving children instead fresh fruits, vegetables, and lean proteins can keep them healthy. Secondly, limiting screen time and simultaneously encouraging children to get adequate exercise can be helpful in losing the rate of obesity in the young population. Physical activity such as going outside for a hike or playing hide-and-seek together not only strengthens children ’s bones and muscles but also family bonds. In conclusion, an unhealthy diet and lack of physical activity are contributing to obesity in childhood. Embracing a healthy lifestyle with healthy foods and exercises could be a silver bullet for this problem.