The tendency for human beings to copy one another is shown in the popularity of fashions in clothes and other consumer goods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been a steadfast change in the fashion industry. This change can also be seen in various industries like science and technology. With this, there is also an increment of tendencies in which people have the need to copy or follow a trend either in fashion or tech. Personally, I disagree with this statement and will shed some light on my reasons, to support my perspective. Over the last decades, the fashion industry has taken over by updating looks and clothing styles every season. This can be beneficial, as it allows a constant cycle of putting new concepts and looks fashion -wise. It also allows fashion designers to put out their designs for the world to see, as well as debuting new fashion designers. For example, during Fashion Week, there have been a few new designs created by starting designers that are considered excellent pieces. With this, people tend to buy more clothes that are in season or trendy to keep up with the trends which can be helpful for the economy. On the other hand, this can also be harmful to humans and the environment. As people consume or buy more new things, older things tend to be thrown away. For example, Apple releases a new model every year, which would cause people to buy the newer version of the phone to stay in trend and dispose of their old phone. This results in an increase in garbage that needs to be disposed of properly. However, proper disposal of clothes and gadgets is not widely taught, therefore, the majority of people end up throwing them in trash bins. This way of disposing of clothes and gadgets can be harmful as clothes take a longer time to degrade and gadgets require specific disposal steps to ensure chemicals from the batteries do not leak into soil or the water system. In conclusion, following trends can be helpful in discovering new talents in fashion and aid the economy. However, this can be detrimental to the environment as people are not taught how to properly throw specific items like clothing and tech products. Therefore, I firmly disagree that following fashion trends or any trends is beneficial.