Some people think that young people should be required to do unpaid work helping people in the community. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a widespread belief that voluntary community work should be mandatory for young individuals. Although charity work does provide some value, I am more convinced that forcing them to take part in these activities is rather unfair. To begin with the positives, a crucial advantage of unpaid services is that they inculcate a high sense of responsibility towards the community among teenagers. Indeed, without involving in charitable organizations, they miss the chance to experience and gain insight into the underprivileged in real life. As a result, they would not propose adequate solutions to solve these social problems in the future. Furthermore, a volunteer program is a chance for youngsters to develop various skills, which can be seen as a beneficial asset for their resumes. For instance, their communication and teamwork skills can be improved when they collaborate with friends to help the elder or orphans. However, there are still some disadvantages when forcing young people to take part in unpaid jobs. Firstly, the time devoted to community services can be time-consuming. Undoubtedly, students have to set aside their studying time to join these activities. The second drawback is that if this policy is mandatory, it can pose a stressor for the young generation. Besides studying, most of them already have multiple responsibilities to tend to, like developing their own project, working part-time, or implementing the activities of their club. Adding public service as an obligation will make them feel being stripped of their freedom. Then, the values of voluntary spirit will be lost. In conclusion, despite some benefits in terms of a sense of responsibility and skill development, charity services are still overshadowed by the downside.