Some people think that secondary school should add international news as a subject; others think that it is a waste of valuable time. Discuss both views.

School subjects are one of the heated topics these days. Some argue that international news should be mandatory in secondary education in school, while others believe that adding that subject is not important. The argument of adding international news as a new subject is an argument that is both agreed upon and disagreed with by many. This essay will thoroughly analyse and discuss both sides of the argument before drawing a reasoned conclusion. On the one hand, some people believe that adding international news as a subject at the secondary level will expand student's knowledge globally. For instance, students will be up to date regarding political as well as developmental issues globally. If institutes make international news a compulsory subject in school, students will be interested in global matters at an early age. For this reason, adding international news as a new subject in secondary school can be massively beneficial. On the other hand, critics argue that adding new subjects to student's curriculum will create a burden on student's studies and mental health. For example, recent research has revealed that students will benefit from more practical subjects such as research classes rather than international news. Secondary education already includes multiple subjects like science, maths and history, so, adding another subject will create confusion among students. Thus, adding extra subjects is a waste of student's valuable time. To conclude, the two sides of the argument concerning extra subjects in school have strong arguments. However, it is clear that adding international news as the new subject will expand student's global knowledge at an early age.