Some countries allow old people to work to any stage that they want. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

Globally, the age of retirement has been a highly debated issue. Residents are permitted to work for as long as they desire in some countries around the globe. While this can bring some advantages, in my opinion, the drawbacks of this far outweigh the positives. First of all, working in old age has a positive impact such as an active lifestyle and the experience they can bring to the organization. This can help elderly people to maintain healthy day-to-day life by working and interacting face-to-face with peers. Moreover, older people have years of invaluable experience that can help companies to grow. For instance, an article in “The Guardian” published that most of the companies in the UK consult retired professionals to seek their advice regarding various strategic topics. For these reasons, professional continuity can be seen in a positive way. However, residents working without any age restriction is not without its disadvantages. These drawbacks usually stem from health issues and restrictive movements. There is a universal consensus that older people cannot perform their duties as effectively due to their physical and psychological condition. To elucidate, a study from a clinic of psychology in Australia states that most people start losing their memory after the age of 55 and also their ability to physically move gets impacted significantly. In addition, it is of paramount importance that the younger workforce gets the opportunity to perform these roles to gain experience for the future. If older people keep their jobs, it would be impossible for young people to learn. Therefore, allowing residents to continue working without limits is disadvantageous and has far-reaching impacts. To conclude, the retirement age has been debated globally and continues to be a topic of discussion. From my viewpoint, the disadvantages of allowing elderly people to work without age constraints profusely outweigh the advantages.