Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Plastic waste has affected significant habitats, causing widespread concern among the public. This essay will primarily discuss the environmental damage caused by plastic pollution and recommend some solutions which governments and the public can do to overcome this problem. The effects of elastic misuse on the environment are severe and often extreme. Basically, this type of material is biodegradable and it takes hundreds or even thousands of years to be decomposed. It means that environmental damage is long-lasting. In addition, plastic pollution also affects organisms in the food chain from tiny species to giant ones. This is because toxins from plastic pollution can be digested by wildlife marine, causing injury and death to these species. It is reported that most wildlife marine such as seabirds, whales and turtles die of starvation because their stomachs are full of plastic waste. Fortunately, these problems can be overcome if comprehensive solutions are implemented. It is obvious that governments around the world still play a crucial role in protecting the environment by enacting laws and regulations which enhance the awareness of both manufacturers and the public about environmental damage. To illustrate, the Canadian government introduced the Single-Use Prohibition Plastics Regulation as a part of its plan to address environmental pollution and meet its target of zero plastic waste by 2023. To be more specific, this Regulation bans all activities including manufacturing, importing and trading single-use plastic checkout bags, cutlery and food service ware made from or containing problematic plastic. Additionally, at the public level, individuals can also be a factor contributing to eliminating plastic waste by recycling the products they use or reducing their heavy reliance on plastic products. For example, people nowadays tend to use straws made from metal or fibre instead of plastic ones. In conclusion, although plastic waste poses certain threats to the environment, if governments and the public are aware of these risks and work together closely, it is believed that this problem can be overcome and surely that we can live in a world without plastic pollution in the future.