The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

In this day and age, many folks believe that older people's traditional values are no longer compatible with the youth's. While there are some outdated views, I am of the opinion that youngsters can still learn a lot from the aged population. On the one hand, it is commonly convinced that numerous conventional notions have become irrelevant in this contemporary society. To begin, the rules of relationships have changed enormously during the past few decades. In many countries, myriad people do not seek long-term partners or are interested in getting married and having babies like in the past. The greatest difference in the gender gap is the disparity in gender roles. The idea of husbands and wives, as breadwinners and housewives, has become out of date. In today's world, financial burdens and other responsibilities are shared nearly equally between them. Therefore, it is clearly seen why this argument is strongly supported On the other hand, myriad people concede that old ways of thinking and behaving are still applicable to young generations. When it comes to politeness and manners, people of younger aged groups are in need of these values. In this globalized world, young people are expected to have contact with different individuals from various backgrounds; as a consequence, being polite and nice will help them achieve respect and trust. Regarding the sense of community and neighbourliness, people will definitely feel happier if they can keep these values. Hence, it goes without saying that a plethora of perspectives from the past still fit those of today's generations. To conclude, although there are valid arguments on both viewpoints, I side with those who are in favour of inheriting and maintaining "old-fashioned" perceptions on the grounds that no matter how thriving our society becomes, youngsters still need to remember their roots and look up to their ancestors.