Today our communications, medicine and transport systems all depend on computer technology. Our reliance on computer technology in these fields has created a dangerous situation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Technology deeply penetrates many parts of modern society everyday life. It is not a secret that even in critical industries such as medicine and transport we are becoming fully dependent on the power of computers while this approach has a number of benefits I strongly believe that our dependence hides significant threats for all of us. Further consideration of computer systems uses and the consequences of a sudden stop of services will help to prove that we could lose control. First of all, there is no doubt that a modern clinic or a train station cannot function without computing power and network systems. The latest technologies in medicine which literally save lives every day have been relying on computers for decades. Furthermore, a constantly increasing number of passengers and provided services on public transport create a strong bond for that industry with computer systems. Despite all the benefits which were mentioned in the previous paragraph, we have been in danger since the first computer virus attacked personal computers in the late eighties and a new word hacker appeared in a newspaper. With a wide spread of technology the door for a dark market, data corruption and even terror was opened for persons who want to use technology with no respect to social agreements and law. Moreover, it has been already proven by many incidents that such attacks cost billions of US dollars and in terrific cases even lives. To conclude, I would like to highlight that it is an obvious fact that critical industries cannot function properly in the modern expanding world. Therefore, our first priority is to protect critical systems and industries from hackers' attacks and systems breakdowns because the price is incredibly high.