Some people think the government funding should not be used for supporting art and culture, while others think supporting cultural activities may be beneficial for the population and the culture. Discuss both these views

Opinions diverge on the necessity of funding cultural activities. While some claim it is an unnecessary investment, others believe both citizens and cultures would benefit if governments were to provide financial support for art and culture. I will discuss both views and state my own opinion in this essay. On the one hand, many people oppose investing in cultural activities because there are more serious issues to address. The deterioration of transport infrastructure in many cities, for example, is the major reason for the increased number of traffic accidents. Using money for the construction of new roads and highways would bring about immediate effects and save thousands of lives. In addition, nations across the globe are facing many environmental problems that require urgent attention, namely pollution and natural resource depletion. National leaders, therefore, should join forces with scientists to combat these issues by allocating financial resources to the development of renewable and environmentally friendly sources of energy. There is no point in spending money on cultural activities before ensuring a safe and clean environment for citizens. Advocates of art and culture, on the other hand, argue that cultural activities play an important role in people’s lives. Cultural events, like Tet holiday or Christmas, are occasions when family members gather together, which helps to strengthen the sense of family and community and further enriches people’s lives. Moreover, funding these activities helps to preserve cultural diversity, especially in such a globalised world where so much culture is being lost and forgotten. The Vietnamese government, for instance, has constructed many museums that solely exhibit examples of ethnic minority culture, whose populations are decreasing at an alarming rate. In conclusion, I believe that cultural activities are of great significance and require attention and financial support from governments. However, it is also the government’s duty to address issues in transportation and the environment to protect citizens’ lives and maintain a healthy environment for people to live.