Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many food and drink are still having sugar as their major ingredient which have many negative effects on our health. Some people propose that price of the products with sugar should be increased to a high level in order to limit people’s purchase of them. I disagree with this argument, and the analyzing of its bad impacts on the market order and the prediction of under-expected outcoming will prove this. Firstly, improving goods’ price without relevant economic reasons will cause the disorder of our market. As we all know, sugar which is a basic material, has a very low cost in the market. If the sellers are enforced by the government to add the price straightly without new added value, their business will be very poor. And some people purchase these food not because that they like to eat sugar but they just can afford these low- price food. So increasing the prices blindly will have a very negative effect both on our economy and society. However, if we improve prices by adding more expensive ingredients or alter the low-value material with more valuable ones, the customers will more likely to accept these price changes. Therefore, improving prices without rational reasons will not work well for the market. Secondly, just increasing the prices of food with sugar cannot solve our fundamental problem. For instance, many people won’t be stopped to buy food with sugar just because of the increased price. What’s more, if they want to eat food with sugar, like cakes and bread. They can purchase sugar and cook at home with a download instruction paper from the internet. We need to change people’s awareness of eating healthy, doing exercise to keeping fit by the publicity of mass media. Therefore, improving prices cannot decrease the consumption of sugar food in a good way. In conclusion, increasing prices of food and drink with sugar blindly will have an adverse impact on our market and definitely cannot reach our initial expectation. We need to adopt other approaches like increasing the popularity of health idea and cultivating people’s good eating habit to lower the bad impacts from unhealthy food.