Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is considered that sharing lots of information in scientific research, business and the academic world is better than hoarding it. However, some people suggest that even a bit of information could be too vital or of high value to be provided at no cost. I tend to agree with the first opinion for several reasons. In my opinion, free access to information allows people in the academy not to waste time on rediscovering the same results, and enterprises to improve their decision-making processes. For example, google scholar cites all scientific publications and in case someone has already found and studied certain ideas, you will save time and check them instead of repeating the whole research process. In business, a company’s periodic reports, which are usually open in public, allow you to understand its financial condition at a specific moment and make the right decision on whether to deal with it or not. At the same time, it is stated that some information can harm many people or lead to money losses in a particular area of business and therefore should not be accessed. For instance, scientific articles describing various methods of stealing credentials with the usage of information technologies in detail can be extremely harmful. Excessive information can also be detrimental to private businesses. An obvious example of that is insider trading which usually results in the loss of money for many people who are not aware of it and are involved in. To conclude, hiding critical and sensitive information sometimes is reasonable as it prevents financial losses or spreading methods to steal personal data from people. Nevertheless, I tend to agree that making information available freely is more beneficial for both business and the academic world.