In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shipping. Is this a positive or a negative ?

These days, many people prefer to enjoy shopping at well-established shopping centres, instead of smaller store chains. This approach has led to devastating impacts on small businesses and this might be because of various reasons. In my opinion, I believe that this is a positive development considering personal experiences and economic developments. This essay will discuss both the advantages and the disadvantages of this trend and will share my viewpoint with relevant examples. On the one hand, it has significant impacts on local businesses. Firstly, it affects the financial stability of those families who rely on such shops for their everyday living. Since there is no productivity, people tend to close their shops. However, some people might not be well educated or skilled to find another opportunity, which would help them to prosper in their lives. As a result, owners would become stressed and overwhelmed due to the lack of growth in business. For example, my uncle closed his textiles since there were no sales and he lost all his savings. On the other hand, there are many advantages of shopping at large centres. This is to say that they have a variety of collections at varied price ranges which are hard to find in local shops. Moreover, the ambience of the building and the easy access to all items make shopping at larger stores a more convenient activity for potential customers. Furthermore, it enhances the development of the economy due to such profitable outlets in the community. For instance, research has found that the percentage of people who shop at big malls are increased significantly in recent years. To conclude, although there are many disadvantages due to the closure of smaller stores, the benefits of shopping at large centres are incredible considering the shopping experiences and accessibility. It also has ample benefits for society due to economic growth. So, I would say that the positives outweigh the negatives.