In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this .

In many parts of the world, young people now have a tendency to take a gap year, which is the time between finishing high school and starting university. From my perspective, this trend has various advantages as well as drawbacks. This essay will discuss both sides. On the one hand, taking a gap year seems like a great opportunity for young people to discover themselves. This means they can take some time off to find out what they are really passionate about, which will be vital for their career choice later in life. Students usually engage in volunteering, taking on different types of jobs or travelling to another country to experience a foreign culture. Moreover, people who choose to work before entering university will have less of a financial burden and they are believed to acquire more skills than those who don’t go to work before higher education. On the other hand, I believe that this trend can bring about several disadvantages that should not be overlooked. Firstly, the biggest drawback is a distraction. In other words, young people who spend way too much time earning money or travelling might be discouraged to go back to their studies. Those who actually get on with their study may find it overwhelming at first as the experience is not as relaxing and enjoyable and they are more likely to fall behind. In addition, there are risks of getting sick or injured when people travel too often; some might even have fatal accidents. Furthermore, some recruiters say that they don’t really appreciate applicants’ gap year if it’s not significant. In conclusion, while taking some time off studying to explore the world may sound like a good idea for people who have just finished school, I strongly believe that the disadvantages that it brings are more substantial.