Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive. or a negative development?

Nowadays,it is very common for many teenagers to stare at their smartphones all day and night.There are various reasons for this,and in my opinion,it is not a good trend for children’s well-being. There are three main factors to be blamed for this phenomenon. Firstly,smartphones are very common today and young people can easily have access to them.In the past, cell phones were rare and expensive; however,they are cheap enough now that almost everyone has the ability to afford one, and even some children have their own phones. As a result,children have more chances to play with the phone. Secondly,there are many more interesting things we can do with a smartphone; for example,play video games,listen to music or read novels.Children can hardly refuse any of this fun. Finally,parents nowadays tend to give their kids enough freedom to do anything they want,just to make sure they are happy. Consequently,youngsters may spend too much time online without restrictions from their parents or teachers. Personally,I think it is harmful to kids to do so.To start with,it can be addictive to play video games or watch short videos online for a long time,which will lead to mental problems. For instance,some pupils are not able to focus on their studies for a long period. Also,young kids should play outside instead of sitting indoors all the time surfing the Internet. Moreover,it is difficult for us to control the context that teenagers search for online,so they can easily expose to violence or sexual images. In conclusion,I believe it is worrying that young people keep on overusing smartphones for fun.