You are a member of an Officer's Club. A small area in the club is available for development. The President of the club has sent out an opinion survey to see what the club members feel the space should be utilized for - a library or a conference hall. The library caters to people of all ages, non-members can join, profits can help in buying more books, book clubs can be started. Why do you prefer your choice? Explain the reason for your choice.

I strongly feel that a library would be a suitable choice for the club members. It is an undeniable fact that 'one is never alone with a book'. In the age of modern technology, people are forgetting the charm of going to libraries and reading books. A library would cater to the needs of all members, belonging to varying age groups. It would help in inculcating the habit of reading in our young members. A cosy, well-stocked library would even become a major attraction for the intellectuals and the members would be tempted to visit the club more often. Not only this, but by offering library memberships to non- members, the club can generate revenue which can be used to buy more books. The library can also start a Reading Club for the members wherein the members can read the same book and then discuss its characters, plot and writing style. The conference hall may not be a great idea as the monthly club meetings are mostly held on the club lawns. Also, the conference hall would offer very limited use while a library will be accessible to the members every day. Hence, I strongly feel that setting up a library would benefit the club members and add to the reputation of the club significantly.