In order to take up a new sport some people think it's better to have access to the latest technology and the most up-to-date equipment. Other people believe that these things are not necessary for starting a new sport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

These days people have become more and more involved and determined to make money. Due to this people have started to neglect their health. But the recent trend holds that people are beginning to spare time for physical activities. But there is this question about how much to rely on technology to become healthy. Is technology really necessary to start a physical hobby or a new sport? I will discuss this and provide my own views. There has been a great advancement in the field of technology in almost all aspects of life. There are now multiple health gadgets available which help us track each activity. For example, if you think of starting swimming, you have smartwatches that can actually calculate and provide the details of the length covered, time spent, and calories burnt. Even doing a simple exercise like walking, can be monitored via mobile phone applications. The application algorithms can tell you how many steps you walked and how was the pace. For some people, this not only helps in developing the best possible plan depending on their strengths and requirement but also to analyze how much the exercise is helping them. However, depending on the technology can have its own disadvantages. During the old times, people did not have the technology to monitor their progress. Even then, they were much fitter than the people today. Sometimes, people opt for a sport for just the fun of it. Also, it is less expensive too. For example, you don’t always need a smartwatch or a smartphone to track whenever you go hiking with friends. Not depending on technology is actually preferable and accessible to many people. To conclude, in my opinion, making use of the available technology is good to help understand your body’s acceptance of a sport. However, we should not depend on technology for guidance.