In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the peopulation in the countryside is decreasing

People from rural areas are migrating to urban areas in a lot of states worldwide, and this results in a decrease in the population in the countryside. I believe this is a negative development because it can cause food scarcity in many countries and more slums in cities across the world. Rural areas are the site for crops and food production, therefore, a decrease in rural population will also affect the food production process. While many rural people think that agriculture-based activities are not profitable enough, they are still important for the overall global food supply. So, if more and more people around the world leave this job, there could be global food scarcity problems in the future. For example, many farmers in Java left their hometowns to work in cities all over Indonesia, this led to a decrease in rice production from around 1980 until today. Moreover, urbanization also leads to more populated cities and an increase in slums. Due to the fact many rural people come to the city without the proper financial capacity, they are forced to live in places that are not habitable, like the riverbanks or near a railway. Besides risking their own lives and well-being, this also creates problems for the city governments around the world. For instance, many people living in informal settlements in Jakarta, which are mostly migrants from rural areas, and although they are able to adapt to the lifestyle of living in awful conditions like on the riverbanks, they are still very prone to flooding and diseases like malaria. In conclusion, I believe that migration from rural areas to cities is a negative development. This is due to the negative aspects of it, namely food scarcity and slums problems.