Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

For some groups of people, their health is their top priority. However, today more and more folk prefer alternative medicines over traditional visits to a doctor. In my opinion, this tendency has more cons than pros, and some of them are crucial. Alternative treatment may help the disease to progress and even lead to death while companies producing such fake drugs become richer and richer. Folk usually do not understand how their bodies work. Some symptoms may look not very important to us, while they may be signals of some serious problems. So, instead of getting a consultation with a specialist, we usually do what our parents or friends tell us to do. Usually, those actions even seem to work. Some symptoms may go away, and we think that we feel better. And while we have this fake feeling of safety, our disease grows inside us, leading to more serious issues. That's why I think it is dangerous to rely on such ways of treatment. Another problem is companies that produce drugs that are not recommended by the official medicine. These companies usually have a strong advertising program, including fake statistics or paid research. That is why even qualified doctors may be tricked by them, not speaking about the common people. For example, when I had acne and visited a doctor, I asked her about a drug that I read was the most popular over the last few years. She told me that the drug would only work combined with another one, and it is a common mistake to use only one of them, so people are wasting their money without getting any results. In conclusion, I want to say I am totally against alternative medicine. It plays with our hopes and beliefs and sometimes even works against us. I believe the knowledge of our body and its signals is important enough to be taught at schools. That would help individuals to understand the importance of official medicine and break myths about curing ourselves.