Space exploration costs tax payers’ an exorbitant amount of money each year. What are the advantages and disadvantages of spending money on space exploration?

In the contemporary era, there have been tremendous advancements in the fields of science and technology. Over a period of time, innovations and inventions have made our lives easy and comfortable. Moreover, nations nowadays are spending huge sums of money on space exploration as well. These explorations are usually sponsored by the government. The authorities get money from the taxpayers and hence there it is often debated if space exploration is necessary. This trend certainly has some advantages as well as disadvantages. This essay will elucidate the same in the forthcoming paragraphs. The discoveries made through space explorations have immensely benefitted us in tremendous ways. Firstly, it has helped us develop the GPS system, which is now being used by many people in their day-to-day activities. Additionally, the entire world is facing a scarcity of resources due to overpopulation and a lack of renewable sources of energy. So, by sending astronauts to space, we can get to know if there is any other planet where the survival of humans is possible. For instance, a recent study conducted by NASA suggested that sources of water exist on Mars. This activity has proved to be one of the greatest findings in recent times. However, there are certain drawbacks to carrying out space examinations. There have been quite a number of instances where astronomers have either faced severe health implications after returning from space or the activity has proven to be fatal for them. To cite an example, Kalpana Chawla, an Indian astronomer lost her life during a space expedition. Apart from that, the events occurring during space travel are not known completely. Because of this, any occurrence which has not taken place earlier can lead to serious consequences. Also, space events are very expensive and not all of them are successful. Therefore, the possibility of an unsuccessful instance can lead to severe economic losses for a country. To conclude, just like every coin has two sides, space exploration to has pros and cons. However, had we not spent enough money on this, we would not have come a long way. The benefits reaped from these examinations, enable mankind to lead a better life.