In some culture, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this message?

Parents and teachers normally educate kids that they can attain whatever their mind is set on through hard work and perseverance. I believe this parenting and coaching method results in both advantages and disadvantages depending on how the child reacts and absorbs it. Children who are told to work hard since they are young tend to put reasonable effort into their academics. Consequently, they are likely to achieve good grades in their schools and able to be admitted into the universities of their choice. In addition, important traits like good management skills and punctuality are often found in those who are trained to value hard work as they gradually acquire essential skills while they are working hard either in their study or work. To illustrate, an outstanding student normally manages his study timetable based on his strengths and weaknesses in the subjects before the real exam. On the other hand, there can be side effects if the children don’t respond well to the pressure given by the adults. Children often misunderstand their parents and are pressured when they are told to work hard to achieve something. They can easily feel demotivated if they can’t attain the desired results even though they put in their best efforts due to unfortunate events. Finally, children are prone to mental and physical illnesses such as sleep deprivation and self-dissatisfaction since they have no time to enjoy themselves to relieve stress. In conclusion, it is good to train kids to value hard work while parents and educators monitor their well-being and happiness.