The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

It is true that opinions about how should people live are divided among the public, some believe that we should stick to our traditional ways; however, others think that those are outdated. This essay totally agrees with the first statement; I believe that old ideas are still relevant to this day. First of all, to assume that ancient ways are not helpful nowadays is ridiculous, ideas like hard work and perseverance still have value in the workplace, because the world has become increasingly competitive; thus, in order to succeed in your career you must be a hardworking person, or you will eventually lose your occupation. Moreover, old fashioned values like respect are most needed, for the reason that individuals don't respect each other like they used to in the old days, for example, a survey done in London about respecting the elderly, and the results were shocking, 80 per cent of old people claimed that younger generations no longer respect them the way as it was before. Secondly, the conventional thought that a man should provide for and protect his family is still relevant, children still need a role model in their life who can guide them and teach them, therefore, claiming that we no longer need this principle is not logical. Furthermore, people who say that they don't need those traditional ideas clearly don't understand the deeper meaning of them, those ideas are one of the backbones that kept society strong and united for all those centuries and they represent a part of our legacy and heritage and abandoning them will seem like a country is not proud of its history. To conclude, there are convincing arguments both for and against traditional values; however, I think that they are still valuable and important to our nation.