Write about the following topic: Some people think it would be a good idea for schools to teach every young person how to be a good parent. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Describe the skills a person needs to be a good parent. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

Parenting is one of the hardest skills to acquire. Some argue that these skills should be thought in schools, so that young adults can learn and apply them in future. I strongly agree with this opinion. This essay will outline my reasoning to support this opinion and the skills required to become a good parent. Parenting requires mastery of many areas. Firstly, a good parent should know how to understand a child's needs. This could vary by age, a baby may express its needs by crying, whereas a young adult may express their needs by arguing. Either way, a parent should have the knowledge to anticipate these needs and address them. Secondly, a parent should know how to keep a child healthy. It includes providing first aid, frequent vaccinations, taking care of sick children at home and many others. For instance, many preventable child deaths are linked to improper vaccinations due to a lack of awareness. It is a good idea to teach these vital skills at a young age in schools. At a young age, children have a higher capacity to learn compared to an adult, hence enabling them to absorb this important information and become good parents in the future. Furthermore, a child learning these skills at school can apply them at home while taking care of their younger siblings. In conclusion, multiple skills such as understanding a child's needs and health requirements are required to become a good parent. I believe that these skills should be thought in schools where children have a higher capacity to learn and at the same time allow them to apply the learning at home.