Some people think zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, some people think zoos can help protect the rare animals. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, protecting wild animals is a more important consideration than in the past, so there are many debates about this issue. Some people state that zoos are inhumane and should be closed while others argue that it is necessary to keep them. This essay will pinpoint the rationale behind both viewpoints, and from my point of view, I am in favour of the latter. On the one hand, there are some reasons to believe that zoos are not good places for creatures. The primary reason is that they are abused when they live in zoos. They are victims of physical activities when training if they do not do something following instructors. As a result, it might be an illness because these actions have big impacts on their physical and mental health. Therefore, the natural environment is better than the captivity situation. The outcome is that in wild places, they live in large spaces to play, hunt, and contact closely with other species while living in zoos, they have nothing to do. Lack of exercise might be the main reason for their physical health such as obesity, diabetes and so on. Despite the aforementioned reasons, my position remains unchanged that living in zoos are more significant benefits because of several justifications. It comes from the fact that species might get all their fulfilment consisting of food, and water in the zoos. Meanwhile, the wild environment becomes extremely difficult because of hunting, cutting down forests for agriculture or accommodation for humans. In addition, the animals on the edge of extinction can be protected and bred. For example, the number of rhinos is less and less because of hunting to get their horns, so they need to live in zoos to protect themselves and get help in reproducing from humans. In conclusion, although I admit that living in zoos might have some merits because they can be assaulted and the captivity environment is not good for their health, I still believe that wild creatures should live in zoos because they get all requirements featuring food, water and they will be in the safe accommodation and breed.