It is a natural process that animal species become extinct, as the dinosaurs did in the past. There is no reason for people to prevent this from happening. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Up to today, it is evident that we have lost many animal species like dinosaurs and dodos. Although people argue that natural disasters have caused these extinctions, I believe humans cannot wait and see this idly. Because it is vital to maintain the ecosystem, and people have a moral duty on behalf of this. Firstly, though some people justify extinction happening due to natural calamities and natural processes, there is ample proof that human activities like deforestation, overhunting and pollution are the predominant factors for this devastation. For example, due to overhunting, dodos disappeared from the earth. So it is inevitably proven that we are the culprit of this offence. As a result, humankind has a responsibility and obligation to preserve and prevent further harm to our nature. Another reason is that many species play a crucial role in maintaining the balance of ecosystems. For instance, bees which are essential pollinators of mother- nature, are responsible for pollinating 80% of flowering plants. If we imagine that one-day bees are going to disappear from the planet, then the whole ecosystem and also food supply will be collapsed. Lastly, all animals have their own intrinsic values so humans do not have the right to determine that whom should be given priority to live on the earth. Furthermore, human beings should give respect to the inherent value of all kinds of animals because all we are interrelated within this vicious cycle. To sum up, while extinction may be a natural process, it is not a justification to withdraw responsibility and obligation towards the natural environmental system. By taking action to conserve their habitats and their right to live here, then we can enjoy the diversity of nature and our lives too.