Many people use social media to keep in touch with other people and for news events. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern era, the masses are frequently using social media platforms like Instagram, Facebook and YouTube to contact other folks and to keep themselves updated about current affairs around the world. I believe the pros of this phenomenon will outbalance the cons, as we will see in this essay. To begin with, the tendency of making use of social media these days has many advantages for people dwelling on different continents. With aid of these online websites and,applications one can confabulate with their loved ones residing in some corner of this gigantic world. Now, the public can stay in touch with their families and friends with the snap of their fingers. This idea has lessened the communication barriers and was considered a dream of the past which has now become a stark reality owing to the advancement in science and technology. For instance, people living in an underdeveloped country in Africa like Kenya can talk to their peers living in Canada in North America. Moreover, people who are curious about the current happenings around the globe can get to know news with the effective use of data and information available on the internet. This enhances their knowledge and intellectual development. Likewise, this can also help them to adapt to the fastly transforming world. Hence, social media proves to be beneficial for folks. On the contrary, along with a plethora of vantages, social media has notable disadvantages as well. One of the most considerable negative aspects is that it engenders feelings of jealousy and envy among people. For example, when folks who are not affluent view their peers and colleagues as living in the lap of luxuries, they tend to develop negative sentiments such as resentment and hatred which are detrimental to their mental health. Furthermore, social media is tremendously corrupting day-to-day human interactions by reducing the number of physical interactions in the everyday lives of the masses. Nowadays, people are more inclined to interact with other people using mobile applications and online websites rather than visiting in person as they used to do in the past. This transmutation in social demeanour has negative implications on the traditions and customs of a particular culture. One can see this with the crowd losing their stranglehold on the ethics and values of society. Therefore, the use of social media possesses considerable and noteworthy cons for folks. To conclude, the usage of the internet has become heavily popular since the dawn of the twenty-first century. The internet is being utilised by the public to check on other folks or to enlighten themselves about news events. The remarkable pros of this trend far outbalance its cons, as were discussed in this essay.