13. People living in the twenty-first century have a better quality of life than people who live in previous centuries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been suggested that people today have better lifestyles than those in the past, especially before this century. Although I can see the other side, I tend to agree with this. Admittedly, there could be a deterioration of quality of life today, and one area where this might be evident is potentially rising stress levels. The past two decades have seen more anxiety and depression, caused by world events such as the global pandemic and climate change, weather disasters, and also more competition for housing, jobs and university places. Together, these macro and micro factors have combined to pose a threat to our collective mental health. In Vietnam today. For instance, many young people are under enormous pressure to perform well in their secondary school studies. and as a result, inevitably suffer from issues such as Insomnia and burnout. Nevertheless, I believe life in this century is generally better than before for two main reasons. Firstly, advances in healthcare have not only reduced the suffering from illnesses, but have also extended life expectancy A good example is people living with HIV, who previously would have died but nowadays can| lead virtually normal lives Secondly education has typically become more accessible. Most countries have, over the past twenty years, lifted funding for schooling, raising literacy levels globally, and allowing more young people to participate in local job markets. This has, consequently, raised the standard of living in many parts of the world. In a nutshell, I think that, although there may be some areas of life which have deteriorated in this century, our overall quality of life has improved.