The number of old people is increasing in many countries. Some people think this causes problems, whilst other people think that old people have an important role to play. How far do you agree or disagree

Many studies describe the harmful effects that a rise in elderly may cause to a country, as in this discussion, where one proposes having more aged people in country could potentially be harmful. while some believe they old people hold a significant position, and can benefit society. I acknowledge the two opposite perspectives in question. However, I strongly agree, that having more elderly could be disadvantageous; reasons and examples will be provided to state acknowledgement. To begin with, the rise in the number of elderly people in numbers could potentially be harmful due to its negative effects on a country. One of which is the economic impact, increasing number of old people can strain services like healthcare and public pension services. For instance, many companies have predicted through a variety of studies that, due to the rise in age people, Japan could potentially be leading to higher taxes and reduced spending money on areas like education and infrastructure, which may result in a collapse of the country's economy. Furthermore, this would also lead to a shortage of available workers, affecting productivity and would increase workforce challenges. On the other hand, the elderly also play an important role in society due to several reasons. They have more knowledge & experience, allowing them to contribute in professional as well as community roles and can transmit their practical knowledge to the younger ones. Moreover, the elderly play a crucial role by offering emotional support, contributing to the transmission of cultural importance to the upcoming generations and supporting the healthcare sector in research. In conclusion, although an ageing population can present challenges for a country, especially when compared to the younger generation, the value and contributions of the elderly should not be overlooked. It is crucial to recognize and honour their wisdom, experience, and the roles they play in society, ensuring that their importance is duly acknowledged and respected.