“Prevention is better than cure” Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventive measure To what extend do you agree

It is argued by many that scientific research on the cure for illness is too expensive and it would be better to spend this money on preventative methods. This essay completely disagrees with the statement. Even after taking preventative,measure there is a possibility of getting infected by a disease. Additionally, in order to eliminate the possibility of getting infected would require the whole population to take preventative measures. On one hand, there is always a chance of being affected by a disease even after taking preventative methods. Although it may seem that prevention makes us immune to all diseases, people still get infected by many diseases. For instance, crowds who wore masks outside their homes and practised social distancing were still unfortunate to test positive for COVID-19. On the other hand, the possibility of getting everyone in society to take preventative measures is negligible. This is greatly owing to the fact that many ignorant people will build controversies and spread misinformation to other communities. For example, during the pandemic many people believed that drinking orange juice every day will make them immune to the coronavirus. To conclude what has been said above, taking any amount of caution will never be enough to stay safe from illness. With a global population of more than 8 billion, can one person think that everyone will take precautions? Even if everyone takes caution, there will still be a small population whose infection will not be curable. This justifies the need for research and technology when it comes to immunology and diseases.