In many countries people increasingly talk about money: how much they earn or how much they pay for things in their daily conversations. Why? Is this a positive or negative trend?

it í true that many people have the tendency of discussing money these days, especially their earnings or their daily expenditures. personally, I hold the belief that this trend arises due to the importance of properties. however, the merits of this trend are overshadowed by its demerits. it is worth mentioning that the essence of material possessions needs to be taken into consideration. most people have high demand in affording necessities and additional services, so it has become a common concern that is often discussed by people with a view to finding the most effective ways to save money. furthermore, discussing financial matters is regarded as a normal and natural way to start conversations in a myriad of cultures, as other people can know more about their social status as well as financial conditions. therefore, it is logical for people to talk about the topic of cash due to its significance in the modern era. despite the aforementioned arguments, I strongly believe that it is a negative trend attributed to the obsession with material possessions. regarding the former, when people talk more about cash, they are likely to put more effort into working in order to satisfy their demands. As a result, they are unable to spend quality time with family members, which would lead to loosened relationships. turning to the second point, discrimination can be formed, especially among children. for example, in Korea, youngsters often bully their classmates, who do not have the ability to purchase luxurious clothes like them. consequently, school violence in this country has turned out to be a serious issue because of the discussion about money. in conclusion, I am of the opinion that the importance of properties is the main reason for this tendency. nevertheless, its benefits are eclipsed its drawbacks, since it may foster materialistic and discriminatory viewpoints.