Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The likelihood of applying alternative medicines and treatments in lieu of seeking professional medical advice is becoming popular among people recently. And I am of the firm opinion that while there are still some explicable reasons for this development, its negatives are prominent to every extent. This essay will attempt to address the reasons for my views as follows. To begin with, a great number of advocates subscribe to the statement that the best doctor in the world is yourself, and chronic or slight acute illnesses can be cured by adequate treatments. Indeed, using appropriate supplements, and doing exercise regularly can heighten individuals’ resistance, thereby preventing virus attacks. Furthermore, with the advent of state-of-the-art technology, everyone can easily access information about medical knowledge and bought some top-notch equipment to keep track of their health indexes like BMI, sleeping status, heartbeat, oxygen saturation (SpO2), protein, ….Trying alternative medicines and treatments, therefore, can be seen as a good way for people to understand their own body, which would evidently help people have a healthy lifestyle. On the other hand, using non-conventional medicines or treatments without getting assistance from general doctors can generate tangible problems. First of all, using medicines is never an option as it not only causes some serious complications, be it vomiting or skin abnormality but also weakens patients' anti-virus systems. For example, overuse of antibiotics will cause the body to become resistant to the drug, so in the long term, the body will be hard to recover from ailments. In addition, the misconception about reading health articles on the Internet, especially unverified content can induce self-affliction. Imagine a rotund person who applied excessive fad diets, they would succumb to eating disorders, exacerbating their health status. To sum up, there are some merits and demerits of trying alternative medicines and treatments, so everyone should be careful to choose when we can apply these methods or get practitioner pieces of advice.