Some people think the government should subsidize fruit and vegetables to make healthy food more affordable. Other argue that the government should tax unhealthy food instead. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A part of the population believes that government should apply subsidies to fruit and vegetables to make healthy feeding affordable to more people, while others suggest that tax should be applied to unhealthy foods instead, I am of the opinion that subsidizing healthy food can be considered, and I will explain why with the following reasons. On the one hand, some people argue that the authorities should make fruits and vegetables affordable by subsidizing them. These food components are vital for balanced nutrition, as they are the primary sources of vitamins and minerals, which are basic requirements for healthy living. For example, in my country Nigeria where the minimum wage is thirty-eight thousand Naira monthly, fuel is subsidized from #400 to #87 making it affordable to many, if such is transferred to fruits and vegetables, a pack of grapefruit hitherto sold for #2,500, making it a luxury for citizens within the minimum income range, despite its rich health benefits will now be sold for about #500, meaning, lots of consumers can now buy On the other hand, others argue that the government should tax unhealthy food. Taxation automatically increases the price of these commodities, making them unaffordable to a greater percentage of the population whilst generating revenue for the authorities from those who are still able to buy. For instance, in Nigeria, imported furniture is taxed, serving as a revenue source for the country and within means to the elite, if such is moved to processed fruit drinks, some buyers will now opt for water in its place, while those who can afford it help generate revenue for the government. In my opinion, ensuring more citizens are able to access fruit and vegetables should be a priority, as a healthy nation is a wealthy one. In conclusion, though some persons have varying opinions, ensuring healthy living via subsidising fruit and vegetables for the citizenry is a call in the right direction.