Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school Program (for example working for a charity, Improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the current era,the need for unpaid community services such as social charity,cleaning and maintaining neighbourhoods or supporting weak children has surged. In my opinion, it should be a mandatory part of the school program, extending the book knowledge. This essay explains the pointers as to why it should be a compulsory part of the program. To start with, new generation kids live in nuclear families thus lacking basic human values. For instance, a sense of respect for the elderly,the importance of a clean environment or the value of necessary stuff they possess.These are some missing traits from most of today's kids. Additionally, involvement in charities or cleaning our surroundings will help keep the environment clean and a great place to live.To exemplify,a group of kids from primary school in my area hold a weekly event to clean the nearest Ganga ghat every Sunday. This not only helps people but also supports keeping pollution away. Moreover, Involvement in activities such as teaching children from weak sections, enables them to uplift society. This can be done by creating multiple groups of school students and allocating one day to each, to teach multiple subjects,one at a time. Also, activities such as working and helping old age locals will foster human values such as kindness, courtesy and compassion. This helps create a better place to live. For example, there are multiple NGOs in India which help to support these causes and assist a lot of people in need. I will quote an instance from KBC (a television game show) on which an NGO came for promotion. They take help from primary school students voluntarily and help old-age residents. To conclude, unpaid social services will have a lifelong impact on students. Hence, these should be an integral part and parcel of the high school curriculum.They will not only develop priceless qualities but will also set a trend of enriched culture and a compassionate environment.