More and more people no longer read newspapers or watch TV programs to get news. They get news about the world through the internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

With the advent of the internet, the dissemination of information is no longer solely the purview of a few newspapers or television stations. While it is undoubtedly beneficial to have more avenues for obtaining news, it is crucial to evaluate whether this has made us more informed. In my view, online news has had more detrimental impacts than positive ones. To be sure, digitized information has numerous advantages. Firstly, it ensures that audiences can receive timely reports on issues that they care about. For example, more and more governmental institutions intend to live-stream critical or urgent issues directly to the citizens. Secondly, the internet offers an extensive range of topics. It appears that all the happenings worldwide reside on the internet, waiting to be harvested by users. For instance, fans in Asia can keep up-to-date with their favourite American pop singers at any time. However, the abundance of information is also causing problems, such as a waste of time. Immersed in a large number of insights, along with white noises, internet users often find it challenging to filter out irrelevant news. Almost everyone can recall aimlessly browsing a website for an hour, only to end up with nothing useful. Furthermore, user-generated content currently accounts for an increasingly significant proportion of online news, pouring genuine reports together with personal feelings, political propaganda, or even inflammatory remarks with hidden agendas into the public, which can be largely misleading or deceptive. In conclusion, internet -based news reporting may bring more negative effects, lacking the scrutiny necessary for an objective and unbiased description of the hard effects. Therefore, it is imperative to be vigilant and cautious about the information we consume.