As the number or cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that drivers should cover the costs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days opinions widely diverge on who should be responsible for the maintenance of road systems. The number of people suppose that governments ought to tackle this problem, while others argue that it is the liability of car commuters. In this essay both of these views will be elaborated and will be given an explanation why I tend to agree with the former opinion. To begin with, it is evident that with the proliferation of automobiles the quality of roads needs a regular care and repair. As soon as*1, (comma is not needed) car drivers are the main users of highways, they are considered as an underlying reason of this issue. According to this, by the point of numerous people*2, car commuters ought to spend some parts of their income to the renovation and expansion of roads. Therefore, fixing the way they drive, car owners understand the whole process of refit and while commuting to and from work, they will take under control the speed and the condition of their vehicles. For instance, in Vietnam car drivers pay taxes for the maintenance of highways, which costs 40-50% of car price. On the other hand, it is undeniable that underlying problems of country’s infrastructure is one of the duties of authorities. Hence, in order to encourage the citizens’ standard of living the government should shoulder this responsibility themselves and repair roads with tax money. All car owners pay the taxes every month and it would be unfair, if to insist them to spend their cash for renovation of roads. It would be a cause of driver’s rebellion. To illustrate, five years ago the residents of Thailand made a revolt, but it was put down after 2 days. To sum up, even though car drivers appear to be the main utilizers of highways, authorities ought to take the responsibility for the expansion of all roads.